Yummy, Yummy, Yummy I got pancakes in my tummy

On our most recent trip to the grocery store, Jenna and I found Aunt Jemima pancake mix in the American aisle of store. Needless to say, we were pretty stoked. Since neither of us had class this morning, we decided to treat ourselves. After working out and getting cleaned up, we fired up the stove and made pancakes!

Getting started

We didn’t buy any syrup, so instead we topped our pancakes with banana, peanut butter, Speculoos, and maple sugar. It was delicious. Oddly enough, Speculoos on pancakes reminded me of the flavor of slightly burned marshmallows- caramelized goodness.

Here are my pancakes:

peanut butter and banana

Breakfast is hands down my favorite meal of the day. I’m really enjoying not having class until 10:30 or 2 most days because it gives me time to enjoy my morning, relax, drink coffee, read my book (currently The Hunchback of Notre Dame), write for the blog, and maybe do some homework. Jenna and I listed all of our favorite types of breakfast and we’re both in agreement that no matter where you go in the world, breakfast is still awesome. In America it’s eggs, pancakes, waffles, french toast, bagles- all delightful. In Germany, Belgium, and the Netherlands, you eat a million varieties of fresh, warm rolls topped with jam, cheese, nutella, and straight chocolate. In France you enjoy buttery, flakey pastries with jam. Jenna had a bean hash-like dish with toast in England that sounded hearty and tasty. You really can’t go wrong with breakfast- it’s all wonderful!

Jenna with a mouthful of pancakes

Leave a Reply

