J’ai fait couper les cheveux!

Today, because I was sick of my hair and because I was feeling spontaneous, I got a haircut. This was a serious haircut. I had to psyche myself up for it and was ridiculously nervous walking into the salon. Here is the before….

look at that mane

Here is the after…

That’s my new do smoothed down. The guy styled it more spikey at the salon, but I don’t think that is quite my style. Maybe I’ll change my mind one day. Here it is anyway….

 

Be honest- do I look too much like Justin Bieber? Was this a good spur of the moment decision? Let’s hear your thoughts!

It was really entertaining to watch the guy cut my hair. French hair cutting techniques are completely different from American ones. When I first sat down in the chair, he picked up the scissors instead of cutting, he just ran one edge up and down sections of my hair until he thinned it out. After about 15 minutes of that, he finally used the scissors the proper way and shaped the cut. Then he used smaller scissors and proceeded to thin my hair out, but he did it with indescribable flair. I asked him a few times what he was doing since they were new techniques, and he said, “Oh, in America you all are too romantic and classic. In France you must have flair! That’s what I’m doing!” This did not do anything to settle my nerves.

When Jenna came into the salon to check on the progress, she was shocked by how much hair he had cut off. My hair was relatively short to begin with, but the last time I got a cut, the girl didn’t thin in out at all. I must have a lot of thick hair! Well, put that in the past tense because my head feels several pounds lighter! No wonder my head has been roasting the whole time I’ve been here! And no wonder my hair wouldn’t do anything- it was too heavy.

I’m still shocked every time I look in the mirror. I’m looking forward to playing with it more and wearing lots of hats and headbands!

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “J’ai fait couper les cheveux!

  1. Love, love, love this hairstyle….i have had the exact hair impulses my entire adult life. My stylist loves it because she’s never bored. Magnifique!

Leave a Reply

