February in Review

I know that today is techincally the first day of March, but I wanted to post some photos to recap the month of February. I can’t believe that in 13 days I will have been in Rwanda six months! I keep thinking back to my year in Germany, where February was the half-way mark. After six months I felt integrated and like I was on the home stretch. I’ve now been in Rwanda the same amount of time, but it feels totally different. I feel like I’m still settling into the village and meeting people. And I’m not anywhere near the home stretch- I’m not even 1/4 of the way done!

6 months down, 21 to go! I can’t wait to see what the next years will bring! But for now, here’s a glimpse into February’s activities.

UF recruited the most PCVs in 2012! Some Senior 3 girls did a celebratory Gator Chomp!

UF recruited the most PCVs in 2012! Some Senior 3 girls did a celebratory Gator Chomp!

Donatha showed me how to make umugwegwe, the fibers used to weave baskets

Donatha showed me how to make umugwegwe, the fibers used to weave baskets

Met the farming association Mugore Kora

Met the farming association Mugore Kora

Went to a dance party, which ended with 50 people, mostly children, crammed into one room eating delicious food and drinking banana wine

Went to a dance party, which ended with 50 people, mostly children, crammed into one room eating delicious food and drinking banana wine

I'm working on developing a project to help a basket weaving association so I visited to take pictures of their products

I’m working on developing a project to help a basket weaving association so I visited to take pictures of their products

Most rwandans look very serious in pictures, so I loved that this woman had  huge grin.

Most rwandans look very serious in pictures, so I loved that this woman had huge grin.

My third basket making lesson with all the pros looking on.

My third basket making lesson with all the pros looking on.

On Wednesday the social studies department had a presentation for the whole school. Some of my Senior 5 boys loooove to use my camera.

On Wednesday the social studies department had a presentation for the whole school. Some of my Senior 5 boys loooove to use my camera.

6 thoughts on “February in Review

  1. The picture with the grin is priceless. You should submit that to a contest so an even wider audience can enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

