Corpus Christi and Intore Dancing

One of the priests during the ceremony

One of the priests during the ceremony

Today my predominantly Catholic village celebrated Corpus Christi. Although the holiday was actually a few days ago, the parish decided to host its festivities today after Mass.

Singing and chanting

Singing and chanting

This afternoon all the church-goers left Mass and walked in a procession to my school, singing hymns and dancing along the way. The parade route was decorated with countless fluttering banners and colorful flowers.

The crowd was huge!

The crowd was huge!

Hundreds of people gathered in the courtyard and listened to the priests lead the ceremony. My students, always eager to learn about technology, borrowed my camera and took all the pictures shown here. They’ve improved a lot!

Even the dancers are Gator fans!

Even the dancers are Gator fans!

After the religious ceremony, a group of men started beating huge, traditional drums, and some teenagers dressed in customary costumes performed a series of dances.

I love the bells on their ankles

I love the bells on their ankles

The traditional dance is called IntoreThe full performance involves a ballet by the women, the Dance of Heroes by the men, and drumming. Today I only saw the male dancers and drummers.

Their headdresses are so dynamic and flashy!

Their headdresses are so dynamic and flashy!

I was really excited to see the intore dancers! It was my first time to see them, and it was a really great cultural experience! I’m working on a video of the dancing, which I hope to upload soon!

4 thoughts on “Corpus Christi and Intore Dancing

Leave a Reply

