Life Updates and Lake Bunyonyi

Hello again after a long absence from the blog! The past two months slipped away from me. The last school term was really short, and cramming in all the work really zapped my energy. Luckily the term is over and I don’t teach again until January, giving me time to recover and prepare myself for the next school year.

Since being on break, I’ve been working on getting books ready for the Community Mobile Library Project launch in January. I led a training to educate teachers from each school in the sector about the project, and we have a committee ready to lead the project next year.

Also yesterday I received all the money needed for the Ubudozi grant! Thank you so, so much to everyone who supported this project. I and my neighbors greatly appreciate your contributions! Next week I plan to go the bank and then distribute the money so the leaders can buy supplies and start working. Christmas time is especially busy followed by the start of school filled with uniform orders, meaning the associations will have lots of clothes to sew over the next few months, and the new machines will greatly help them.

Tomorrow I head off to another two weeks of camp. This time we are doing Girls Leading Our World (GLOW) and Boys Excelling (BE). These camps are designed to teach students about leadership skills, goal setting, healthy living, love and relationships, and HIV. After such a great experience at TechKobwa in August, I am so excited for another two weeks of camp. I’m sure it will be exhausting but absolutely wonderful.

And about five weeks from now, Mom, Dad, and Matt will all be here to visit! We’ll spend Christmas at my site before traveling to Lake Kivu, hiking in the rain forest, and going on a safari. I am so excited to see them after 15 months!

So that’s the next few weeks in a nutshell! It will be action-packed and very fun!

This past weekend I met a few other PCV friends in Uganda for a few days at Lake Bunyonyi, a lake near the Rwanda-Uganda border. We stayed at Byoona Amagara, a retreat on an island in the middle of the lake. We stayed in geodomes, which are thatched huts with the front side open onto the lake. That area of Uganda looks a lot like Rwanda with lush green mountains everywhere. The landscape was stunning, and it was so refreshing to be on vacation, if only for a few days. I definitely feel more energized and ready to work again.  Here are a few pictures of our trip. I’ll be back soon to post about GLOW and BE camps!

Getting ready to motor to the island

Getting ready to motor to the island

Sunset on our first night

Sunset on our first night

Geodome looking over the lake

Geodome looking over the lake

A foggy morning

A foggy morning

Our geodome

Our geodome

2 thoughts on “Life Updates and Lake Bunyonyi

Leave a Reply

